Bahir Dar University

Bahir Dar University Bahir Dar University was established by merging two former higher education institutions; namely the Bahir Dar Polytechnic and Bahir Dar Teachers’ College. The Bahir Dar Polytechnic Institute, which has transformed itself into Technology and Textile institutes, was established in 1963 under the technical cooperation between the Government of USSR and the Imperial Government of Ethiopia. The institute was a premier institute in producing technicians for the nation. The Bahir Dar Teachers’ College, by then known as the Academy of Pedagogy, was established in 1972 by the tripartite agreement of the Imperial Government of Ethiopia, UNESCO and UNDP and started actual work in the following year under the auspices of the Ministry of Education and Fine Arts. Its general objective was to train multipurpose primary education professionals capable of adopting primary education to rural life and rural development. Its specific objectives were to train primary school teacher trainers, supervisors, educational leaders, adult education organizers and community development agents.
The two institutions of higher learning were integrated to form the Bahir Dar University following the Council of Ministers regulation no. 60/1999 GC. The University was inaugurated on May 6, 2000. Bahir Dar University is now among the largest universities in the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, with more than 53,343 students in its 70 undergraduate and 93 masters (second degree) and 15 PhD programs. Bahir Dar University has four colleges, four institutes, three faculties and one school. The academic units of the University include College of Science, College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, College of Medical and Health Sciences, College of Business and Economics, Bahir Dar Institute of Technology, Ethiopia Institute of Textile, Garment and Fashion Design, Institute of Land Administration, Institute of Disaster Risk Management and Food Security Studies, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Education and Behavioral Sciences, School of Law, Sport academy and Maritime academy. The research centers of the university are Blue Nile water Institute, Biotechnology research Institute, Pedagogy and Education research Institute, Energy research Institute, Textile, garment and fashion design, Abay culture and development research center, Geospatial data and technology center, Institute of Economics research and Demographic surveillance.


Bahir campus

The Bahir Dar University Strategic Plan 2003-2007 EC provides the University community a roadmap for the next five years. This strategic plan clearly outlines our core values, reaffirms our mission statement, sets forth a noble new vision and sets forth five critical strategic themes for ensuring a University of excellence for future generations of students. The Strategic Plan is prepared in a time when our Government has initiated a bold and strong five year Growth and Transformation Plan that gave due consideration to higher education development. We the University community commit ourselves to play our part in the achievement of the Growth and Transformation Plan through this Strategic Plan.

Powered by

Questo sito utilizza cookie tecnici e di profilazione propri e di terze parti per le sue funzionalità e per inviarti pubblicità e servizi in linea con le tue preferenze. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie clicca qui.

  Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina o cliccando qualunque suo elemento acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.